311 Hauss Square
City / County Building
New Albany, Indiana 47150
812-948-5400 (Communications Center)
Floyd County Police
Floyd County Police
The Floyd County Police serve and protect Floyd County, Indiana 24 hours a day, 365 days a week. FCPD answers thousands of calls for assistance every month and respond to several different types of incidents in the community while maintaining a high level of professionalism and dedication to the residents of Floyd County.

Click on the boxes to the right to see the sections below.
Welcome to the Floyd County Police Department For listings of the officers in each section or officer photos, please see below.

The photos below may not be used without written permission from the Floyd County Sheriff's Department.
Chief of Police
Chief Ted Heavrin
(812) 948-5408
theavrin@fcsdin.net
Floyd County Sheriff
Sheriff Darrell Mills
(812) 948-5400
dmills@fcsdin.net

K-9 Officer Lanny Fessel
K-9 Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
lfessel@fcsdin.net
Off. Chris Brady
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
cbrady@fcsdin.net
Lieutenant Frank Loop
1st Shift Commander
Training Coordinator
(812) 948-5400
floop@fcsdin.net
Sgt. Doug Standiford
1st Shift Supervisor
(812) 948-5400
dstandiford@fcsdin.net
Off. Thad Neafus
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
tneafus@fcsdin.net
Major Scott Evans
Administrative Assistant
(812) 948-5400
sevans@fcsdin.net
SRO Brad Scott
School Resource Officer
Hazelwood Middle School
(812) 948-5400
bscott@fcsdin.net
Detective George Shultz
Criminal Investigations
(812) 923-8811
gshultz@fcsdin.net
Off. Rodney Clark
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
rclark@fcsdin.net
Lieutenant Gabe Kelly
3rd Shift Commander
Metro SWAT Commander
(812) 948-5400
gkelly@fcsdin.net
Off. Robbie Woodruff
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
rwoodruff@fcsdin.net
Off. Brad Striegel
Reserve Officer
(812) 948-5400
bstriegel@fcsdin.net

Off. David Heath
Reserve Commander
(812) 948-5400
dheath@fcsdin.net

Ken Taurman
Secretary
Officer's Appointee
(Democrat)

Ken Keilman
Member
Sheriff's Appointee
(Republican)


Bob Jamison
Member
Officer's Appointee
(Republican)


Rosalie Dowell
Member
Sheriff's Appointee
(Democrat)

Have information regarding a crime
or criminal activity?

Please call (812) 948-5407 and
speak with or leave a message for

Detective Captain Jeff Topping
Detective Jeff Firkins
Detective Brad Powell

YOU MAY REMAIN ANONYMOUS
Det. Major Jeff Topping
Criminal Investigations
(812) 948-5407
jtopping@fcsdin.net
Floyd County SWAT Team
Detective Capt.
Jeff Firkins
Criminal Investigations
(812) 948-5407
jfirkins@fcsdin.net
Lieutenant Russ Wyatt
2nd Shift Commander
(812) 948-5400
rwyatt@fcsdin.net
Off. Scott Sams
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
jsams@fcsdin.net
Off. Jason Jones
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
jjones@fcsdin.net
Off. Jason Kerberg
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
jkerberg@fcsdin.net 
Sgt. Matt Hall
2nd Shift Supervisor
(812) 948-5400
mhall@fcsdin.net
SRO Mark Spurgeon
School Resource Officer
Highland Hills Middle School
(812) 923-4014
mspurgeon@fcsdin.net
Off. Tim Berkenmeyer
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
tberkenmeyer@fcsdin.net

Off. David Anderson
Reserve Officer
(812) 948-5400
danderson@fcsdin.net
Off. Tim Blackford
Reserve Officer
(812) 948-5400
tblackford@fcsdin.net

Detective Brad Powell
Criminal Investigations
(812) 948-5407
bpowell@fcsdin.net

Off Jeremy Furmall
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
jfurmall@fcsdin.net

Floyd County Police
Criminal Investigations
FCPD Reserve Officers
Floyd County Police Merit Board
Floyd County Metro SWAT
The Floyd County Metro SWAT is comprised of highly trained specialized officers from the New Albany City Police Department and the Floyd County Sheriff's Department. The Metro SWAT team is a dedicated and professional group that are at the ready at all times to respond to high risk incidents in Floyd County and surrounding areas.
Sheriff Darrell Mills was elected in 2007 to serve Floyd County as Sheriff. Mills, 52, started his career in law enforcement when he was 20 years old as a dispatcher in Georgetown. He joined the Georgetown Police Department in 1975 and became a reserve officer for the Floyd County Sheriff’s Department a year later.

In 1980, he took a full-time position as an investigator with the Floyd County Prosecutor’s Office. His final move was back to the Sheriff’s Department to accept a full-time position as patrolman in 1987. He has also served as a detective.

Chief Ted Heavrin was appointed in 2007 by Sheriff Darrell Mills and is a 30 year veteran of the Floyd County Sheriffs Department. Chief Heavrin is a 16+ year veteran of the Floyd County Council and was reelected in 2008 to serve another term on the council.
Floyd County CHAPLINS
Rev. Larry Bracken
Chaplin (Corrections)
Rev. Jack Cormack
Head Chaplin
(812) 948-5400
jcormack@fcsdin.net

Rev. Frank Pendleton
Chaplin (Patrol Division)


Rev. Gary Cooper
Chaplin (Corrections)

Sgt. Gene Perrot
3rd Shift Supervisor
(812) 948-5400
gperrot@fcsdin.net
Off. Joel White
Patrol Officer
(812) 948-5400
jwhite@fcsdin.net